5.3 Identify and apply the competencies of collaborative practice

The Canadian Interprofessional Health Collaborative (CIHC) has developed a National Interprofessional Competency Framework which describes the competencies required for effective interprofessional collaboration. Six competency domains highlight the knowledge, skills, attitudes and values that together shape the judgments that are essential for interprofessional collaborative practice. These domains are:

  • Role Clarification
  • Team Functioning
  • Patient/Client/Family/Community-Centred Care
  • Collaborative Leadership
  • Interprofessional Communication
  • Interprofessional Conflict Resolution

Figure 1: The National Competency Framework

CIHC graphic

The College of Health Disciplines at the University of British Columbia has developed a series of online modules based on the CIHC National Interprofessional Competency Framework. In this series of modules, IPC on the Run, each module addresses one of the six competency domains.

[1] Canadian Interprofessional Health Collaborative. (2010).  A national interprofessional competency framework.
[2] University of British Columbia, College of Health Disciplines. (2015). IPC on the Run.